Monday, November 4, 2013

IITians Who Have Really Made it Big

IITians have played a very important role in improving different technologies world over,here’s part of the list of IITians who made it really big and played vital role in their respective areas.
Ajit JainKharagpur1972President, Berkshire Hathaway Reinsurance Group
Anil K. RajvanshiKanpur1972Director, Nimbkar Agricultural Research Institute and winner of Jamnalal Bajaj Award 2001 and FICCI award 2002.
ANIL THADANIIIT-Madras1968Chairman, Schroder Capital Partners investment bank
Anurag DikshitDelhi1994Co-Founder,Partygaming
Arjun MalhotraKharagpur1970Co-founder, HCL Technologies
Arogyaswami PaulrajDelhi1973Professor, Stanford University
Arun NetravaliBombay1967President, Bell Labs, Chief Scientist, Lucent, US National Medal of Technology
Arun SarinKharagpur1975CEO of Vodafone
Arvind KejriwalKharagpur1989Indian social activist and crusader for greater transparency in Government. Winner of Ramon Magsaysay Emergent Leadership award in 2006
Arvind RaghunathanMadras1984Managing Director and Head of Global Arbitrage, Deutsche Bank
Ashok SootaRoorkee1965CEO and Founder of MindTree
Bharat DesaiBombay1975Chairman and CEO, Syntel
Chetan BhagatDelhi1995Best-selling author of “Five Point Someone” and “One Night @ The Call Centre”
Debabrata GoswamiKanpur1988 (M.Sc.)Scientist, famous for his “Adiabatic Quantum Computing” Work with Lasers; Wellcome Trust International Senior Research Fellow
DESH DESHPANDEIIT-Madras1973Founder, Cascade Communications
G. V. LoganathanKanpur (M.Tech)1978Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Virginia Polytechnic Institute
Gunjan SinhaDelhi1989Chairman, Metricstream
Jairam RameshBombay1975Member of Parliament, 2004
KANWAL REKHIIIT-Bombay1967Venture capitalist.Founder, boardmaker Excelan
Kirit ParikhKharagpur (M. Tech.)1957Founder, IGIDR; Member, Planning Commission.
Krishna BharatMadras1982Creator of Google News, Principal Scientist, Google
Lord Kumar BhattacharyyaKharagpur1960Professor at the University of Warwick and advisor to Britain’s Prime Minister. Padma Bhushan (2002) and Knighthood (2003)
Madhu SudanDelhi1987Nevanlinna Prize, 2002
Marti G SubrahmanyamMadras1967Charles E. Merrill Professor of Finance at Stern School of Business
Mani Lal BhaumikKharagpur (Ph.D)1958Physicist, contributed to early development of the excimer laser, honorary fellow of the American Physical Society and Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, philanthropist and author.
Manindra AgarwalKanpur1986Clay Research Award, 2002 ,Godel Prize, 2006
Manohar ParrikarBombay1978Chief Minister, Goa
Mriganka SurKanpur1974Professor of Neuroscience, MIT
Muthuraman B.Madras1966Managing Director of Tata Steel
Narendra KarmarkarBombay1978Polynomial time algorithm for LP problems, which is a leading breakthrough in Operations Research
Nandan NilekaniBombay1978Co-founder and CEO of Infosys
Naveen JainRoorkee1979CEO and Co-founder, Intelius
N.R. Narayana MurthyKanpur (M Tech)1969Co-founder and Chairman of Infosys
Padmasree WarriorDelhi1982CTO, Motorola
Pradeep S SindhuKanpur1974Co-founder, Vice-President and CTO, Juniper Networks
Raghuram RajanDelhi1985Economic Counsellor, IMF; Fischer Black prize
RAJ GUPTAIIT-Bombay1967CEO, chemical maker Rohm & Haas
Raj Kamal JhaKharagpur1987Writer, famous for his Novel “The Blue Bedspread”
RAJAT GUPTAIIT-Delhi1967Managing Partner, McKinsey & Co.
Rajesh JainBombay1984MD, Netcore Solutions, Founder, IndiaWorld
Rajinder SinghMadras1967Noted spiritual leader and winner of Colombia’s highest award medal of golden cross.
RAKESH GANGWALIIT-Kanpur1975CEO and President, US Airways
Ramanathan V. GuhaMadras1989Invented RSS
Ramani AyerBombay1969CEO of The Hartford
Ramesh AgarwalBombay1968IBM Fellow, T.J. Watson Research Center IBM
ROMESH WADHWANIIIT-Bombay1969CEO, founder, Aspect Development
Sundar PichaiKharagpur1993Senior VP, Google
SHAILESH MEHTAIIT-Bombay1971Chairman, CEO, Providian Financial
Shrinivas KulkarniDelhi (M.Sc)1978Astrophysicist, professor at Caltech
Srikumar BanerjeeKharagpur1967Director, Bhabha Atomic Research Centre, (BARC), Trombay
Subrah IyarBombay?CEO WebEx Communications
SUHAS PATILIIT-Kharagpur1965Founder, chip designer Cirrus Logic
UMANG GUPTAIIT-Kanpur1971Founder, Gupta Corp. and Keynote Systems
VENKY HARINARAYAN, RAKESH MATHUR, ANAND RAJARAMAN, ASHISH GUPTAIIT-Madras,Bombay, Kanpur1978-1993Cofounders, internet browser
VICTOR J. MENEZESIIT-Bombay1970Co-CEO, Corporate & Investment Banking, Citigroup
Vikrant BhargavaDelhi1994Co-Founder,Partygaming
VINOD GUPTAIIT-Kharagpur1967Founder, database American Business Information
VINOD KHOSLAIIT-Delhi1976Partner, Kleiner Perkins. Co-founder, Sun Microsystems
V. C. KulandaiswamyKharagpur (M. Tech.)1956Padma Shri (1992) and Padma Bhushan (2002)

No comments:

Post a Comment